It is difficult for many people to go to a new doctor. We build lasting, trusting relationships with our doctors, and we trust that they have our best interests at heart. This is the same for anyone, whether a child, parent or someone dealing with a workplace injury or illness.
If you receive workers’ compensation benefits here in Pennsylvania, you can see your own doctor, but there are certain requirements that you must abide by first.
The 90-Day Rule
Pennsylvania law requires your employer to post a list of at least six health care providers that employees can see for workplace injuries and illnesses. If your workers’ compensation claim is approved, you must see a provider on that list for the first 90 days.
After the 90 days, or if your employer does not post a list or posts an invalid list, you can see any doctor you choose. You will need to notify your employer that you are seeing your own doctor. If you see your own doctor within 90 days and there is a proper list posted, your employer will not have to pay for that treatment.
Do Not Let Your Boss Violate Your Rights
If one of the doctors on the employer-provided list recommends any type of surgery, you have the right to receive a second opinion that your employer will pay for. If the second opinion doctor also recommends the same treatment, you will need to use an employer approved provider for the 90-day period.
Additionally, your employer cannot push you to use one provider over any other on the list. An employer may post a list to comply with the law but want all injured workers to use one particular doctor. If this is happening to you, contact an experienced workers’ compensation attorney today.
If you have any questions about what medical care you can receive while receiving benefits, you should schedule a consultation with an attorney. Your attorney will be able to walk you through the process so you comply with the law and protect your access to future benefits that you need.