Injured on the job? If so, it is best to file for workers’ compensation benefits as soon as possible. If one does not, one runs the risk of having benefits denied and having to pay for care and recovery completely out of pocket. As work injuries can be rather expensive to treat, especially if one becomes disabled in some way, losing out on any available relief is not something that Pennsylvania residents would want to have happen.
When one suffers a work-related injury, the first thoughts are on seeking treatment, not necessarily filing a report. Getting care is actually the first thing that should be done. However, one must keep in mind that the state has set a statute of limitations on filing workers’ compensation claims.
Currently, it is suggested that injured employees give notice to their employers within 21 days of the date when the injuries occurred. However, state laws say that they have a whole 120 days to provide notice before benefits will be denied. If one’s request for benefits is denied, one has three years to file an appeal.
Now, if an occupational illness is suffered, the illness must occur within 300 weeks from the date of hazardous material exposure. If one can prove that the illness is work-related, he or she may file for workers’ compensation benefits even if no longer employed by the company at which the exposure occurred. In occupation illness cases, one has three years to file for workers’ compensation benefits.
Unfortunately, far too many Pennsylvania residents who have been injured on the job have had their requests for workers’ compensation denied or only partially paid even after filing claims within the required time frame. When this happens, they feel that there is nothing they can do to get the relief that they desperately need. This is not the case, however. An experienced work comp attorney can assist these individuals in fighting for fair and full coverage.
Source: dli.pa.gov, “About Workers’ Compensation: Time Limits”, Accessed on June 20, 2017